What I Get In Return

Our office had our Christmas party yesterday. Like all office parties, ours had its share of unnecessary stress: program, presentations, delegation of tasks, games, and most particularly, raffle prizes. We encountered an obstacle in the raffle prizes, which made me decide to just waive my participation since I believed I had office mates who needed it more than I do, and to relieve everyone who was part of the organizing group, myself included, anymore stress. 

I didn’t expect that they would still print out my name and include it in the raffle, but apparently, they did.

Fast forward to the raffle, where I was called for one of the major prizes: a two-burner stove. I waived, and my prize went to one of our office drivers. It was not the noblest of acts, but it made me glad that even in just a small way, I had made someone else happy.

There was still one more prize left though: the grand prize. It’s not as grand as a gadget, an overnight or weekend stay somewhere, or a car, but it was still something that can be of great help especially to most of our staff. I wasn’t aware that the raffle prizes team included all our names again for the final draw. But guess what? I won. Again.

My initial thought was to accept it and just give the prize to someone else in our staff who can bring it home to his family. I sent my mom a text message sharing with her the news and my plan. My mom suggested I accept the prize, and share my blessings with more people (by ‘more people‘ we mean, more families who cannot afford even a single decent meal). You get the idea, I think.

Acceptance. I am not the best at handling stress – the wrinkles and lines on my face would attest to that. It took me a while to realize that most of the stress I encounter are unnecessary, and that there are times when I should just let go and let God. “Hope for the best, do and give your best, and let God take care of the rest,” as the wise say.

Sharing. My parents have shared and instilled in me and my siblings the value of sharing and generosity; that even if we are not well-off and just manage with what we have, if we see someone in need and we can share, we share. It was never an instruction or a directive, but rather a trait passed on.

Though there are times when I forget, those are what I ‘get in return‘, I think. The love and support of my family and friends, and the opportunities to share myself and what I have to other people.

Those are my blessings. Those are my gifts every Christmas and every day.

Author: doreenmariaclara

I 'write' in the shower, like any normal person.

2 thoughts on “What I Get In Return”

Leave a Reply

