Lesson Learned

I just read up on news about other people’s dogs passing on amidst all the chaos, that is, Philippine politics. It got me reflecting on a few things, so here’s my #throwback for this week.

A few years ago, I got into an unfortunate rift with a co-teacher. It started with the death of her dog, and she had to take what started as a day off from work to three days. I called her attention about her absences and basically demanded that she reported back to work, since my main concern then were the substitutions other teachers had to do for her. This obviously did not turn out well, hence, the rift.

I used to not understand the value of having a pet, and how each one is treated as part of the family. I ignored what my co-teacher was going through because I chose to only see what I believed was important  – – – at that time, my duties. I still regret that day, and I am truly sorry for it.

The Lord has a way of teaching us lessons though; Of making us see where we could have done or been better.

As if to teach me a lesson and help me understand, I have my own pet now – – – a rescued AsPin, Marshie. Just like how I am with my loved ones, I go through the same struggles every time Marshie feels or seems different, the fun when she does something silly, and the joy of just having her around. I feel the fear of knowing that she will not be with me forever, and that one day soon, we would have to part ways and say good bye. The same kind of fear you feel for a loved one.

I have definitely been ‘schooled’. Now, I go through each day encountering different people, keeping in mind that I know nothing of their struggles, hence, I should be much kinder and more understanding. I go through each day just enjoying every moment with the people I hold close to my heart, and not waste it on hate and senseless bickering. And as much as I can, I stay away from negativity, for life is just too short to dwell on anything that sucks the life out of you.

Life, indeed, has a way of teaching you lessons, and love has a way of softening your heart.

Author: doreenmariaclara

I 'write' in the shower, like any normal person.

Leave a Reply

